Americans Still Very Pessimistic about the Economy

Bad EconomyAccording to a recent poll by Harris Interactive, over two-thirds of  US adults believe that the country is still in a recession. That’s 7 in 10 adults (69%) who said that we haven’t come out of the first recession. Another 11% think that America is entering a new recession, fearing the double dip recession.

In a mid-September poll, Americans gave President Obama quite a harsh beating when it came to his handling of the economy.

  • Only 1 in 5 Americans (21%) gave the president positive ratings
  • 4 in 5 Americans (79%) rated him negatively.

What does this mean? Basically, that Americans are still waiting for an economic redemption, in both fear and pessimism. Contrary to what economists are saying, this poll shows that Americans are lacking the optimism to view the job market positively.

Pessimism is never a good way to look at things. I’ve been there, a jobless fresh graduate with little work experience. I’ve applied everywhere-Monster, Craigslist, Indeed and searched individual companies I wanted to work for, but in the end I was scammed, cheated and given the false hope of working for this-and-that company (Square-Enix, one of them).

Still, I kept pushing, praying, seeing the world in the lens of providential hope.
As a Christian, I was taught that everything had a purpose, a season for all things. Even though I’ve gone through several interviews (and though some of them scammed me and took my information), I still believed that my life was in God’s hands. It’s a great blessing and comfort to feel the calm amidst the storm.

In the end, I got a call from a legit company, got the interview, and became the only copywriter with no copywriting experience who was hired. A few months later, the company struggled and had layoffs, I think from 300 employees to down 100 or less. I ended up being one of the 2 out of 5 new hires that stayed with the company, while most of the older employees had been laid off.

It’s been almost a year since I started working for the company, and we’ve gone through massive changes. Looking back, I’ve learned a lot of things about the world. Prepping campaigns of nearly all types of businesses, I learned new words, how certain businesses function, and how people make money. I’ve been called a Walking Wikepedia ever since I differentiated excavators from motor graders and bulldozers simply by looking at those caterpillar machines.

But I could lose my job at any moment, especially where my company is going. But if that happens, I know I’ve learned much and grown, having become a better writer. Who knows, maybe there’s something better out there? With eyes of hope, one can see that not everything in reality is set in stone. We can get out of this economic mess, in time. We can look back at the things that seemed formidable, but months or years later, we’ll see that the journey made all the difference.

I’ll end with a nice webcomic my friend D.L. made:

Life Journey

Myselves in Retrospect by D.L. Kim

About theonlyalbertong

Casual gamer, writer, anime fan, traveler and foodie. Aspiring author of otherworldly adventures. Catch me at Comic Con and other fun events! Add me on Instagram @theonlyalbertong

Posted on October 15, 2011, in Uncategorized, Visions of Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

